Welcome to Golf at Midleton CBS

Midleton CBS has been taking part in Cork & Munster Golf competition since the early 1980’s

The Cork Colleges U-18 is contested for the Phil O’Sullivan Trophy since the inception of the competition in 1981. The competition is divided among 4 regions, namely, East Cork, North Cork, West Cork and Cork City. Originally, the 4 regional winners played semi-finals and finals at The Cork Golf Club, under a match-play basis. This has always proved a very popular competition, being played off handicaps (max 18). Midleton CBS were runners-up in 2 finals in the late eighties and early nineties run under this format. The format has changed over the past ten years and nowadays the 4 regional winner’s play-off in a stableford competition, hosted by Monkstown G.C. with the competition being followed by Dinner and Presentation. Under this format, success has come the way of Midleton CBS, with the following team members:

  • 2001-02: Paul Foley, Stephen O’Brien, Barrie O’Rourke and John Hutch.
  • 2002-03: Ryan O’Donovan, Cillian Hurley, Stephen O’Brien, Barrie O’Rourke and Robert White
  • 2008-09: Ray Barns, Daniel Morrissey, David Morrissey, Alan Hayes and Simon O’Brien.

Champions of Munster and All-Ireland Finalists 2006
Back: Seán Hurley (coach), Robert White, Denis Ring (Principal)
Front: Ross Williams, Michael O’Neill, David Conolly

Champions of Cork 2008-09
Back: Seán Hurley (coach),Alan Hayes, Simon O'Brien
Front: Ray Barns, David Morrissey, Daniel Morrissey


National Competitions start off each year with the South Munster, followed by the Munster and then the All-Ireland competition. Midleton CBS qualified for the All-Ireland in 1990 and again in ’91, represented on both occasions by: Mark Forde, Sean McSweeney and Jason Law. At the time, these competitions were sponsored by The Golf Foundation and a European dimension was added to allow for the national victors compete in such noted courses as St. Andrew’s, Gleneagles and Sunningdale. Unfortunately, Midleton CBS had to settle for bronze in each of their National Final appearences, nonetheless, it is a source of pride to be rated as the 3rd best School in Ireland. Luckily, at that time, the Golf Foundation also provided funding for the purpose of coaching and CBS were fortunate at the time to avail of the expertise of Brendan McDaid, then the resident pro at Frankfield G.C.

Champions of Cork 2001-02  -  Phil O'Sullivan Trophy
Mark O'Sullivan, Paul Foley, Stephen O'Brien (capt), Phil O'Sullivan, John Hutch, Barrie O'Rourke, Seán Hurley (coach),


Success at Munster level followed in 2006 with a team represented by Robt White, Michael O’Neill, David Conolly and Ross Williams. Bronze medals were our lot again this time, but a tremendous effort was given by the team. Recessionary times at the moment, has resulted in the cancellation of the European Competition.

Each year, in early September, a schools competition is organised, thanks in the main due to the generosity of East Cork G.C. for the use of their facilities. This competition keeps us up to date with the current form of our golfers and allows for the opportunity to unearth any new upcoming talent. So hopefully, more County and Munster titles will make their way to Midleton CBS in the years to come and one day, who knows, we might get that elusive National title.

Champions of Munster 2009
Back: Seán Hurley (coach),Alan Hayes, Simon O'Brien
Front: Daniel Morrissey, David Morrissey, Ray Barns
© 2011 Midleton CBS | Web Design by Digital Crew