Report for 2015 by Brendan Wall

Midleton CBS Past Pupils Union


Founded in 1964, the Past Pupils Union brings together past pupils from Midleton’s CBS Primary and Secondary Schools. Our aim is to support the betterment of the schools through financial support and recognising achievements.
Membership is open to any person who attend either Midleton CBS Primary or Secondary. You do not need to attend both. We are always looking for new members, see below for ways to get involved.

In 1968 the Past Pupils Union decided to hold bingo and has held it since then. Originally it was held in the primary school on Tuesday nights before moving to the Ormonde Cinema, Broderick St. on Monday nights. It has since moved to the secondary school with little interruption, retaining its Monday night slot.
The bingo is the main fundraising activity of the PPU which is held every Monday evening at 8pm in the secondary school. Through holding bingo we have been able to give over €750,000 to Midleton’s CBS schools.

This has allowed us to support the schools in many ways, including:


  • • Sponsorship of the school’s sports jerseys
  • • Contribution to the purchase of the secondary school mini bus
  • • Annual payment for bus hire transporting 1st years to the Edmund Rice International Heritage Centre in Mount Sion, Waterford, home place of Edmund Rice, founder of the Christian Brothers in Ireland.
  • • Purchased a protective floor covering for the new sports hall.
  • • Contribution to 1916 memorial books for students in 3rd to 6th class.
  • • Hosting the school awards
  • • Among many more things.


School Awards

On November 27th 2015, we hosted the 52nd annual PPU Secondary School awards in the secondary school. Forty one students were presented awards by PPU president Ivan O’Sullivan in categories such as Academic Endeavour, Academic Excellence, Positive Contribution to the CBS Community, Sporting Achievements and other individual awards. The awards were presented in front of other members of the PPU, school staff, proud family and friends and for the first time in a few years the entire student body.
Two students were also presented with Gold watches, this is the highest award we present to students. A watch is presented to the CBS student who achieves the highest Leaving Certificate result. A second watch is presented under the title of Spirit of Edmund Rice Award, this is presented to the student who has made a positive contribution to the CBS community in their time in the school.


Get Involved

We are always looking for past pupils to get involved in the Union. Help us on a Monday night for bingo, Like our Facebook page – MidletonCBSPPU or sign up to our newsletter by emailing


Committee 15-16

President – Ivan O Sullivan
Chairperson – Donal Fenton
Vice Chairperson – Rossa Williams
Hon. Secretary – John Quinlan
Hon. Treasurer – Andy Wall
Hon. Registrar – Con Walsh
PRO – Brendan Wall



Jersey Presentation –Past Pupils Union members presenting members of the secondary schools GAA teams with new jerseys


PPU Members – Members of the Past Pupils Union at the blessing of the cross from the original CBS School now erected outside the secondary school.

Watches  PPU President Ivan O Sullivan presenting Jorik Schellekens and Pat Steele (Class of 2015) with Gold Watches for achieving the highest Leaving Certificate result 2015 and the Spirit of Edmund Rice Award 2015 respectively at the 52nd Annual PPU Secondary School Awards.

Leaving Certs - Fourteen students from the Class of 2015 being recognised at the 52 annual PPU Secondary School awards. These students achieved more than 500 points in their Leaving Certificate.

The recipients pictured with PPU President Ivan O’ Sullivan are from front left; Kevin Fennelly, Ciarán Gosnell, Dáire Healy (award accepted by his father), Mark Healy, Lochlann McCarthy, Thomas Millerick. Back row from left: Michael Barry, Padraig O’Donovan, Kevin Rohan, Jorik Schellekens, Pat Steele, Mark Wall, Eoghan Wilkinson and Andrew Williams.




© 2011 Midleton CBS | Web Design by Digital Crew