Dean Ryan back after 24 yrs

24 November, 2013

Final score:   Midleton 1-14   Ard Scoil Ris (Limerick) 2-10


Midleton captured the Dean Ryan Cup - for Munster U-16½ 'A' hurling, with a breathtaking victory over opponents Ard Scoil Ris from LImerick. The match was played in Cashel under ideal conditions for hurling.

I use the word breathtaking, because CBS had to come from 56 mins of being the bridesmaids in this game to power home in the last minutes and secure victory. At one stage the margin reached 7 in favour of the Limerick city based team.

The effort and non-stop belief of the players is a tribute to themselves and their mentors for the approch they had when many felt that the game was slipping away from them. While there was many individual performances that might have caught the eye of the neutral, it would be remiss to single anybody out, such was the wholehearted effort of the 16 plsyers who got field time, not to mention a similiar number of subs, praying for the chance to add to the effort.

Pat Cashman from Aghada has now lost the title of the last man to captain a winning Dean Ryan team and has passed on this mantle to Brendan "Butty" McCarthy - a proud Carrigtwohill man, whose grandfather Jimmy witnessed the occasion, having played and won in 1946. That '89 team included the star of the future in Brian Corcoran but also Ronan Dwane and Seamus Murphy, the former coaching and the latter mentoring the present team. They were joined in management by the evergreen Sean Hurley, who jointly managed the successful Harty Cup winning team of '06.



1.  Eoin Moloney (Midleton)
2.  Cal Hegarty (Fr. O'Neills)
3.  Senaidh Smyth (Midleton)
4.  Mike Millerick (Fr. O'Neills)
5.  Ed Leahy (Aghada)
6. Daniel Harrington (Fr. O'Neills)
7.  Sean O'Connor (Fr. O'Neills)
8.  Brendan McCarthy (c) (Carrigtwohill)
9.  Conor Parker (Fr. O'Neills)
10. Jack McDonnell (Aghada)
11. Kevin Moynihan (Russell Rvs)
12. Killian Treacy (Killeagh)
13. Garan Manley (Midleton)
14. Josh Beausang (Russell Rvs)
15. John Looney (Aghada)
16. Eoin Cronin (Russell Rvs)
17. Kevin Mulcahy (Midleton)
18. Cathal Martin (Kiltha Og)
19. Oliver Baverstock (Carrigtwohill)
20. Liam Gosnell (Carrigtwohill)
21. Charlie Terry (Aghada)
22. Daire Crotty (Carrigtwohill)
23. Sean O'Leary Hayes (Midleton)
24. Ger Millerick (Fr. O'Neills)
25. Chris Ruddy (Russell Rvs)
26. Declan Kelly (Kiltha Og)
27. Chris Power (Midleton)
28. Daniel Creedon (Aghada)
29. Ryan Keneally (Fr. O'Neills)
30. Colm Swayne (Fr. O'Neills)
31. Conor Keegan (Carrigtwohill)
Padraig O'Brien (Midleton)
*Padraig O'Brien started instead of the injured Garan Manley, who later made an appearence as a substitute



Sean Hurley, Seamus Murphy & Ronan Dwane (Aghada) - coach


© 2011 Midleton CBS | Web Design by Digital Crew