Dean Ryan Hurling Final

17 November, 2014

Midleton CBS 1-10
Our Lady’s (Templemore) 0-12

OUR LADY’S TEMPLEMORE paid a heavy price for missed chances as Midleton CBS held on grimly for a one-point victory in yesterday afternoon’s Dean Ryan final at Clonmel Sportsfield.

Corner forwards Chris Power and Liam Gosnell combined for 1-7 as last year’s winners retained their Munster junior A hurling crown.

But Templemore will be kicking themselves after registering 14 wides in total – including eight in the second half.

Corner forward Lyndon Fairbrother was in deadly form in the first half for Templemore, hitting four points from play, but the lively JK Brackens man also finished with five wides, including three missed frees.

Ultimately, the only goal of the game proved crucial and it arrived in the tenth minute as Power whipped home the loose ball after Gosnell’s delivery from the left touchline created panic in the Templemore goalmouth.

That score was a tonic for Midleton, who took control after Templemore had opened impressively.

Fintan O'Connor, on behalf of Munster Post Primary Schools, presents The Dean Ryan Cup to victorious captain, Daire Crotty.

At half-time, Midleton were 1-7 to 0-7 clear but Templemore, inspired by Noel McGrath’s younger brother Brian at centre back, midfielder David O’Shea and attacker Jamie Morrissey, were the better team in the second half.

But that aforementioned profligacy cost them dear as chance after chance went begging.
On three occasions, Templemore got to within a single point of the winners but they could never get level.

And Midleton were unlucky not to claim an insurance goal three minutes from time, with full-forward Conor Keegan denied by a brilliant Paddy Cadell save.

Midleton CBS victorious Dean Ryan Cup panel with mentors, Mr Tim Collins and Mr Alywin Kearney.

Scorers for Midleton CBS: Chris Power 1-2, Liam Gosnell 0-5 (2f, 1 65), Charlie Terry 0-2, Padraig O’Brien 0-1.Scorers for Templemore: Lyndon Fairbrother 0-4, David O’Shea & Jamie Morrissey 0-2 each, Brian McGrath (f), Matthew O’Sullivan & Stephen Nolan 0-1 each.

1. Ross Walsh (St Colman’s)

2. Adam Daly (Midleton)
3. Sean O’Leary Hayes (Midleton)
4. Ed Leahy (Aghada)

5. Sean O’Meara (Midleton)
6. Jack McDonnell (Aghada)
7. Ryan McConville (Midleton)

8. Daire Crotty (Carrigtwohill) – captain
9. Brendan Twomey (Carrigtwohill)

12. Padraig O’Brien (Midleton)
11. Andrew Leahy (Killeagh/Itas)
10. Charlie Terry (Aghada)

13. Chris Power (Midleton)
14. Conor Keegan (Carrigtwohill)
15. Liam Gosnell (Carrigtwohill)

Subs: Liam O'Shea (Lisgoold), Eoghan O'Sullivan (St. Colmans), Ciarr O'Connor (Fr O'Neills), Eoghan Dorgan (Fr O'Neills), Jamie Landers (Killeagh/Itas), Cathal Gunning (Midleton), Michael Kelly (Kiltha Óg), Matthew Leahy (Aghada), John O'Dwyer (Midleton), Sean O'Sullivan (Midleton), Aaron Walsh-Barry(Carrigtwohill), Kalan O'Donoghue (Aghada), Christy Coughlan (Killeagh/Itas), Aaron Walsh (Killeagh/Itas)


© 2011 Midleton CBS | Web Design by Digital Crew